Group Projects: Rant

Hey Everyone,

I don’t know about you, but whenever a professor assigns a group project I just want to slam my head into my desk. I absolutely despise the idea of a group project. I don’t know why the idea annoys me so much because on paper it would sound like the best idea ever. I mean, 4+ people working on a project, splitting up the work equally, different ideas and view points, what could possibly be bad about it? Well, let me tell you, a lot can go wrong in a group setting.

For one thing, there always seems to be one person in the group who thinks they are smarter than everyone else. They feel the need to share their immense amount of knowledge with the rest of the group, and it almost always comes off as the they want to rub it in. Oh my goodness, I cannot tell you how much these people annoy me. Normally, the entire group has at least some knowledge on what the topic of the project is. And no matter what you do, this person is always right, even if they are wrong. That drives me absolutely insane when someone is just like “No, you’re wrong, this is the right answer”.

One of the main reasons why I hate it is because normally two people are working on the project and the rest of the group is just messing around. Now, I’m sure we have all been apart of this problem. I admit, I have done this before but it is really annoying when not everyone is sharing the work load. Recently in a class, we had to write a group paper and each person had a specific job to do, we had to put it in google docs, and we had two weeks to do it. One of the people in our group didn’t do their part so we all got downgraded because of it. The paper wasn’t worth too many points, but it still effected the grade. I know that the other two people, as well as myself, where not happy at all with this particular person.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that I would much rather do a project by myself instead of relying on others. I just find group work completely pointless and to be honest a waste of time. What are something professors do that annoy you? Leave a comment below and don’t forget to look back on Friday to see what I write next! 🙂

Signasdas

2 thoughts on “Group Projects: Rant

  1. When I’m doing a group project, I like to have the group meet at a restaurant so I can buy them all dinner. That way, when I start talking like a know-it-all, they can’t get too upset at me.

    I think the major take-away from group assignments is that it prepares us for reality. It’s likely that most students will end up working with a team in their occupation. We have to learn to deal with these difficult personalities because we’ll be working with them for the rest of our lives. There will always be slackers and there will always be pricks. There will always be people who pick up the slack and there will always be the mediators.

    The best and worst part of any job you’ll ever have will be the people you’re working with.

  2. I actually hate assigning group projects for the same reason. In 101 I will have students do an anonymous peer eval & use it for the Interaction grade. I’d hope with classes in the major the groups are more focused, but you never know.

Leave a Reply

